Abscess questions PLEASE help

Posted , 30 users are following.

sad

Hello, I have an abscess, lower left big tooth (third I think) Anyway, started off last weekend feeling unwell, headache a bit fluey, then sunday tooth started to niggle. Called dentist on Monday as by then pain in jaw, around ear and eye. He said I could go in on the Tuesday PM. He said the tooth looked suspect, felt tender when he tapped it and gum looked inflamed. He gave me antibiotics. Got worse, nagging pain the rest of Tuesday, Wednesday started swelling. My cheek, half bottom lip swollen into a ball like shape. Very tender and all along my jaw, under the jaw. Called the dentist and he said the antibiotics would take 24 - 48 hours to kick in. Continued to get worse, lots of swelling, terrible pain that could not be controlled by normal pain relief, kept getting hot, shakey, very anxious took myself off to the docs as didn't sleep for 3 nights and needed stronger pain relief. He gave me some and it did help a bit - went back to see dentist who drilled a hole in tooth but nothing came out - he sent me away saying he couldn't do anything until swelling went down that if it didn't drain out of tooth it would slowly drain through lymph glands. My glands are definately up and next is swollen although still able to breathe and swallow - thank god! Finally today - Saturday after pressure in gum became very intense the pus started leaking out through the gum under the tooth - still nothing coming through it? Not sure why? If I pulled my lip out all the pus came streaming out and I was able to spit it out. Should I try to draw the remaining pus to this tooth by putting salt etc on the gum? Any advice would be most appreciated as I am getting quite anxious thinking about it. Dentist said he would pull the tooth on Monday if swelling had gone down - does it have to go all the way down before he will pull it?

2 likes, 50 replies

50 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted