Adrenal suppression and prednisolone timing

Posted , 8 users are following.

I'm new to PMR and have taken 20 mg prednisolone for a week, with pain and stiffness from dawn to mid-afternoon. A few days at 25 mg has not helped. Consequently I am considering a split dose or moving to a single 2am dose. 

How worried should I be about long-term adrenal suppression?  Won't patient tapering of the dose will eventually restore my adrenal function come what may?

1 like, 41 replies

41 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Joydeck

If you taper slowly to come off preds you will stimulate your adrenals..but once completely off the preds you may experience withdrawal symptoms, this is not experienced by everyone withdrawing from preds, but i did experience withdrawals....i stopped taking preds 10 months ago. My adrenals are just about getting back to normal i can feel it. I am having tests to see if my adrenals and cortisol are at a normal level now. However, it does take longer for your adrenals to recover in some cases due to how long on preds and how high the dose..as far as GCA is concerned coming off preds is more involved......it can take up to 2 years for adrenals to function normally......

• Posted

Hi Joydeck

If you taper slowly to come off preds you will stimulate your adrenals..but once completely off the preds you may experience withdrawal symptoms, this is not experienced by everyone withdrawing from preds, but i did experience withdrawals....i stopped taking preds 10 months ago. My adrenals are just about getting back to normal i can feel it. I am having tests to see if my adrenals and cortisol are at a normal level now. However, it does take longer for your adrenals to recover in some cases due to how long on preds and how high the dose..as far as GCA is concerned coming off preds is more involved......it can take up to 2 years for adrenals to function normally......my very best wishes to you Joydeck if you are considering tapering off preds.....

• Posted