Adrenal suppression and prednisolone timing

Posted , 8 users are following.

I'm new to PMR and have taken 20 mg prednisolone for a week, with pain and stiffness from dawn to mid-afternoon. A few days at 25 mg has not helped. Consequently I am considering a split dose or moving to a single 2am dose. 

How worried should I be about long-term adrenal suppression?  Won't patient tapering of the dose will eventually restore my adrenal function come what may?

1 like, 41 replies

41 Replies

Next
  • Posted

If the 25mg isn't making a noticable improvement then it must be questioned whether what you have is really the PMR we talk about here - PMR is just the name for the set of symptoms caused by an underlying disorder and there are several.

However, for some people it takes a long time for the pred to work - have you tried taking the pred before bed? Are you taking plain white prednisolone tablets or are they coloured (5mg tablets are red) in which case they are enteric coated and do take a long time to be absorbed from the gut (they pass through the stomach and are absorbed further down). I think you are right to experiment a bit with when you take it though.

Adrenal suppression will happen at 20mg doses if you take it for more than a few weeks, whatever time you take it or how you take it. The body makes its own corticosteroid, cortisol, in an amount that is equivalent to about 7.5mg pred. Too much cortisol is not good for the body so the body has feedback systems to stop production when enough is already present. In some ways it is like the thermostat on your central heating boiler stopping more heat when the room is warm enough. The body doesn't care whether the corticosteroid is natural or synthetic - it is a corticosteroid and does the same things. Above about 10mg your body won't produce cortisol - just as the boiler won't produce heat above your chosen temperature.