Advice needed

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi, after months of panic attacks and low mood I started on 20mg fluoxetine and after 3 weeks of horrendous side effects, I started feeling much better. on week 6 I had a review with my doctor and explained to him that I was still really socially anxious so he upped my dose to 40mg. I lasted 3 weeks on this dose because I felt so bad on it. I've gone back to 20mg 4 days ago but still feel awful, low mood and anxiety. I'm worried I'm never going to feel better. Thanks

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi kay, i'm no expert but i've found these tablets take a long time to start working,

I started on 20mg and it was around 12 weeks for my anxiety to start easing, i've now been on them 5 months and my anxiety is almost gone, but i'm still left with low mood so only last week had my dosage upped to 30mg.

From what i've read on here you need to give each dose time to work gradually, so maybe you swapping up and down so soon is the reason your anxiety is worse,

i'd give the 20mg time to settle, the doctors say weeks but its more like months for most people, and i know its hard to be patient when you just want to feel ok!! but its good to talk on here, its helped me loads xx

• Posted

yes I'm definitely feeling worse since increasing and decreasing the dose. I'm just really struggling now and desperate for some relief. thankyou for replying to me x

• Posted

I think you have to let yourself get used to a certain dose, i know everyone is different but for me i got every side effect going when i first started taking them, and its scary not knowing if thats how you should feel or not,