Advice Please

Posted , 18 users are following.

I am currently reducing from 8mg to 7mg Pred by the dead slow method (previously dropped by 1mg every 4 - 6 weeks having started at 20mg). What I would like to know is, having eventually got down to 7mg for a whole week do I then start reducing to 6mg or do I stay at 7mg for a couple of weeks or so before doing so?

0 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Stay at 7 for at least a month and then start reducing by one/half of 1mg.

You can't rush the reduction or will just wind up going back up when pain

comes back.   There is a lot of info on this site about slow, slow, slow it

the way to go.....

• Posted

I am not a doctor, and have never even played one on t.v., but I have a strong opinion about the right answer to your question.  My answer is based on the experience of following the instructions of my rheumy, whose dosing regimen is not typical.  My answer: Do not reduce your dose after "a couple of weeks." Do it after FOUR weeks.  Do it every four weeks, but reduce from 7 to 6.5.  After another month, go down to 6.0...5.5....5.0.   At that point, consult your physician. Mine has advised staying on 5mg for ever.  He says that with that regimen, he has never had a patient experience a relapse, which commnly occurs in patients who have stopped taking it altogther.  He would approve of reducing from 20mg by 1 mg every 4-6 weeks, but below 10mg he had me reduce by only 0.5mg.  He believes that reducing as slowly as that, then staying on 5 mg, is they key.  So far, he has been proved correct in my case.  I hope this helps.

• Posted

Hi I like the reduction method fro 20mg below I hope to get to that. At present I'm on 37.5mg have been for a week going to stay for 4 weeks on this amount but not sure on how much to reduce after this I got down to 27.5 last time but got a flair that's why I'm back at 37.5.

• Posted