Advice please, worried about elderly mum with swollen legs and ankles due to amlipodine.

Posted , 8 users are following.

My mum is 85 and always been in good health apart from high blood pressure, which she has taken medication for years, the most recent of which is amplipodine. She saw the nurse for regular check up and she spotted mum's ankles and legs are swollen so took her off the amlipodine straight away (about 1 week ago). My concern is she now seems not her usual self, she can't walk much as she in pain due to the swelling, she also has severe back pain which seems to have come on more or less the same time as her swollen legs/ankles.

I'm just wondering if anyone knows if the swelling/pain is temporary and that she will recover ok now she isn't on the amlipodine? 

Thanks in advance

0 likes, 30 replies

30 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I'm not a Doctor Jinnie, but i have just been replying to someones conversation about amlidipine.I have just come of it nearly three weeks ago and I had swelling around the legs, ankles and feet. Your Doctor should have told you, this is common with this drug. It took around 3 days before my swelling disapeared. I suppose that could vary within certain people. I would say to get her moving and excercise and i'm sure the swelling will eventually go down.
  • Posted

Hi Jinnie1975...I agreed with Howard5050. A very common side effect of this drug is the swollen ankles/legs. It's particularly common with the 10mg dosage. Not everyone suffers this side effect with Amlodipine, but a lot do. I was one of them. It just may take a little while longer for the swelling to subside, but if it doesn't, then by all means take your Mum back to the doctor. Excercise is important too, so if she's able, take her for some walks.When resting, elevate the feet. Good luck.
  • Posted