Alcohol Detox at home

Posted , 7 users are following.

My son is ready for detox and after finding out the cost, (because his insurance is crap)  I would like to detox him at home.  I am a retired nurse and he is 38.  He has been drinking a lot for a long time but is still a functioning alcoholic.  He is in good health except for the fact he smokes and drinks.  He still works every day.  Dr. said his liver is a little damaged but not bad.  After reading all the posts about Librium, this seems doable at home with the proper instruction and knowledge and support.  I just don't know how to go about getting him Librium.  He lives in another state and I want him to come down here to Florida and stay with me while he detoxes.  If he agrees.  I still have a lot of reading to do about the detox process but any help is appreciated.  He doesn't have a Dr. where he lives yet since he just switched insurance companies and I am not sure he could get on a plane with Librium.  I don't know, maybe he could.  Thanks for any advice.

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I posted a lengthy reply to your other post. You have done the right thing in starting your own thread, but please do read my reply.
    • Posted

Okay, read your reply in the other thread and I'll reply to it here, to keep it tidy.

A relapse isn't dangerous, stoppin alcohol without a detox can be, it just makes people despondent and lessens their morale. The downside of it can be, alcohol kindling - each time this occurs, the body finds it harder and harder to give up alcohol - so it is not good to become one of these people constantly giving up and then starting drinking again.

As for Campral, although it doesn't work for everyone, there are a copy of people here that it worked well for, myself and Vickylou. It should really be taken when the detox starts, as it takes a week to build up in the system.