Alcohol Detox at home

Posted , 7 users are following.

My son is ready for detox and after finding out the cost, (because his insurance is crap)  I would like to detox him at home.  I am a retired nurse and he is 38.  He has been drinking a lot for a long time but is still a functioning alcoholic.  He is in good health except for the fact he smokes and drinks.  He still works every day.  Dr. said his liver is a little damaged but not bad.  After reading all the posts about Librium, this seems doable at home with the proper instruction and knowledge and support.  I just don't know how to go about getting him Librium.  He lives in another state and I want him to come down here to Florida and stay with me while he detoxes.  If he agrees.  I still have a lot of reading to do about the detox process but any help is appreciated.  He doesn't have a Dr. where he lives yet since he just switched insurance companies and I am not sure he could get on a plane with Librium.  I don't know, maybe he could.  Thanks for any advice.

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I have another question and I am hoping that if you have experience with this you will reply with any knowledge you have.  My son is still in detox and doing pretty well.  I am so proud of him.  Anyway , the detox center actually talked to him about Vivatrol.  I looked it up and it is actually Natroxolone.  My question is is this shot that they are talking about good for him?  They say it lasts for 28 days and takes away his pleasure for the alcohol in case he drinks.  I googled it and it says you shouldn't drink while taking it.  People on here have talked about taking a pill one hour before a drink.  Wouldn't that be a better system?  Kind of confused.......

• Posted