Amitriptyline Users: would you start this drug if offered it now?

Posted , 10 users are following.

I have been offered this drug on a low dosage for acute back pain.  I have a damaged lumbar facet joint trapping my sciatic nerve in my left leg.  To my horror a physiotherapist and a GP have suggested I might try this drug for pain relief as the physio and painkillers are not working.  I just can't sit down because of the nerve pain in my leg and I have to travel 215 miles in a week's time for a serious family health commitment.

I use the word "horror" as it has taken me 10 months to be totally free from mirtazapine withdrawal side effects.  And as most AD users will know, there is no support for any patient when trying to stop taking these drugs.  You are out there, alone.  

Now that I feel free at last from the insidious side effects of mirtazapine, I'm offered amitriptyline. ??

It would seem that antidepressants are the cure all for everything these days except depression.

Is anyone taking this drug for back pain and does it work?

Thank you

1 like, 36 replies

36 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Christine, poor you and painful. 

Sadly amitriptalyne did work for me and my back pain but know your feeling well as I came off a heavy dose of amitriptyline a year ago. It’s been a hellish journey and one I’d rather not have to do again. Have you thought about trying a local lidocaine injection directly into the painful spot. It’s a local anaesthetic and can work wonders. Would keep you away from the dreaded pills!! 

Can last for up to 3 months and numbs the pain. Won’t fix the damage but would give you time to find other solutions.

Hope this helps.

Ed

• Posted

Hi Hope or Ed