Amitriptyline Users: would you start this drug if offered it now?

Posted , 10 users are following.

I have been offered this drug on a low dosage for acute back pain.  I have a damaged lumbar facet joint trapping my sciatic nerve in my left leg.  To my horror a physiotherapist and a GP have suggested I might try this drug for pain relief as the physio and painkillers are not working.  I just can't sit down because of the nerve pain in my leg and I have to travel 215 miles in a week's time for a serious family health commitment.

I use the word "horror" as it has taken me 10 months to be totally free from mirtazapine withdrawal side effects.  And as most AD users will know, there is no support for any patient when trying to stop taking these drugs.  You are out there, alone.  

Now that I feel free at last from the insidious side effects of mirtazapine, I'm offered amitriptyline. ??

It would seem that antidepressants are the cure all for everything these days except depression.

Is anyone taking this drug for back pain and does it work?

Thank you

1 like, 36 replies

36 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi Christine, am sorry to hear about your pain. I am probably one of the worst people to ask as my reply is a firm NO, dont go near them. The thing is I am not in alot of pain and I have read on the internet how these have helped people. I would still say no though, these meds have ruined my life.
    • Posted

Hi Paula

Thanks for your answer.  I never took them.  I refused.  They are exactly the same as mirtazapine and they are evil.  It took me 10 months to be free of the withdrawals from mirtazapine.  By reading many patient posts on this forum, Amitriptyline and mirtazapine produce the same side effects and withdrawals.  I would never go near another antidepressants again no matter what the gp claims it can remedy.  To be honest I was appalled when I discovered they are used to treat nerve pain and very wary of their claims.