Ankle Surgery-Screw Removal-Anyone had this done?

Posted , 18 users are following.

My first surgery for my ankle was July 8th when I had to get a rod and ten screws on my fibula about halfway up, two screws in my ankle, one at the very bottom of my tibia going up at an angle for a hairline fracture and another long screw in my fibula going straight through and into my tibia. I'm getting the last screw removed and am not sure what to expect.. Anyone experienced something like this? I know it doesn't seem like a big deal but I'm still learning how to walk from the hardware being put in so I'm really not looking forward to this. Experience? How long is recovery? Walking after?

0 likes, 38 replies

38 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello -    I had similar surgery to yourself and my plates, screws and pins are to stay in place forever as far as I'm concerned - unless they begin to give me trouble.

I had my surgery on 29th July so am exactly 3 months on now and I'm walking very well now and am pleased with my progress.      I can't imagine even thinking about having the hardware removed, certainly not in the first twelve months anyway.

I have heard that recovery from removal of the hardware is much easier than from the surgery, so hopefully, you'll be ok.   Wishing you the very best of luck.

• Posted

Hey paul you had surgery 2days after me ..can you give me deals on how u are doing? If u dont mind me askin how old are you..I Am 26 i been doing great i didnt have to do therapy are anything i still have a limp from time to time. I have plates and screws ..up into last week it look like my incision is opening back up ...MY doctor said he may have to take the hardware out but i really dont want that
    • Posted