Ankle Surgery-Screw Removal-Anyone had this done?

Posted , 18 users are following.

My first surgery for my ankle was July 8th when I had to get a rod and ten screws on my fibula about halfway up, two screws in my ankle, one at the very bottom of my tibia going up at an angle for a hairline fracture and another long screw in my fibula going straight through and into my tibia. I'm getting the last screw removed and am not sure what to expect.. Anyone experienced something like this? I know it doesn't seem like a big deal but I'm still learning how to walk from the hardware being put in so I'm really not looking forward to this. Experience? How long is recovery? Walking after?

0 likes, 38 replies

38 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Hi Laken,

When my screws were removed, the doc made an incision just large enough to use a screw driver to reverse the screw. One stitch. No pain. Just am inconvenience having to keeo it dry.

Being a curious person. I requested that the screws be returned to me...they are nothing like what you purchase from the hardware. Theu are so light weight...and hollow!

I hope your screw removal is easy.

kind regards

judith

• Posted

Hi Shantell, I have to have my (2) screws removed early next year.  Everything else, stays in.  Just curious:  Did they put you to sleep or just block that area?  My doctor told me, I would be put to sleep, but that it woudln't take 15-20 minutes.  I'm sorry you're in a lot of pain. I hope they gave you something to take.  Thinking of you!  Beth

• Posted

One more questoin:  How long after they did your fist surgery (Shantell), before they removed your screws?  I had my surgery on Friday, May 13th and my doctor said it would be 10-12 months, before he removed the screws.  Thanks!  Beth
    • Posted