Ankylosing Spondylitis, How is it diagnosed?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi there

I have had severe hip pain etc and I have had xrays on my spine and hips, my spine xray shows I have degenerative discs and I have lost the curvature of my spine and since having being put on new medication meloxicam, which can be used for this complaint, my pain is very minimal and life seems to be more bearable..........

Since seeing a Rhuematologist and she didn't care to look at my medical file or x-rays, she said I had mechanical back strain (yes right in my hands and feet????)She just predicted things by the day in general I saw her......

She said

I have superficial tenderness over the lumbar and thoracic spine and all the soft tissues over the thorax and trunk.Lumbar felxion is somewhat limited, although the schoebers measurement was reasonable at 4.5cm. She says I am uncomfortable on side flexion, and I have a normal lumbar lordosis. Straight leg raising produced some discomfort in the hamstrings, but she says nothing in my back. Fermoral nerve stretch was normal. There was no focal CNS signs, and my hip movements were normal. in the peripheral joints I am hyper mobile at the MCPJ's and the IPJ's of the thumbs, she says I had no other abnormal features.............She should have looked at my xrays!!!!! I don't understand the terminology of this all, has anyone got an idea of this too? I just feel like the Rhuemotologist just couldn't be bothered!!!!!! Probably as the appointment was on the NHS, who knows?????

I have read on the internet that I more than likely have Ankylosing Spondylitis, as apparently a doctor can diagnosis this due to the loss of curvature????

http://www.nass.co.uk/questions.htm

What I am wondering is this correct??? and if it is correct do I just put this finding to my GP??? Or can a Rhuematologist only diagnosis this???

Thanks for reading this.

Regards

SES

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Next
  • Posted