Anxiety worse is this all normal

Posted , 18 users are following.

i have just been put back on 10mg of citalopram and i am now on day 15 and the side effects are unbearable! i do remember it been pretty dreadful the last time too as i kept a journal of the experience but this time round i actually feel like im losing my mind, anxiety is so bad it is impossible for me to keep still, my heart thuds really hard, not racing as on Propanalol for that, i wake up with a feeling of dread and doom and see no end to it, the only way i can describe it is i feel like im losing my sanity as i feel petrified every minute of every day, just reaching out for any advice or help ive come this far dont wanna stop but its getting too much, 1st ever time posting on any forum, thanks

0 likes, 73 replies

73 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

hi all, i am new to citalopram currently on day 4 and this is the worst i have ever felt. i had no idea the side effects would be like this. My anxiety is at an all time high and the last two days my chest/arms/ sometimes legs feel like they are burning! i was overthinking this last night which then turned into a bad panic attack. If these effects last as long as yourself then i really dont want to feel like this much longer!!

• Posted

hi laura when i started on citalopram it was hell! the side effects were so bad. reading on here really helps as you can speak to people going through the same thing. when i started i had no sleep, crazy dreams, dry mouth, upset stomach, cold sensations on arms and anxiety was through the roof with terrible intrusive thoughts. also had no appetite. it did settle down after 3 or 4 weeks. i have now been on 20 for 4 weeks and moving up (i took 15 for a few weeks) wasnt as bad as starting, i am still along way from being recovered but nothing was as bad as when i started. hope this helps as i know how islolating all of this can be. your not alone. 😃 leigh

• Posted