Any artists here that can answer concerns with Panoptix vison results?

Posted , 9 users are following.

I can't find answers to my question so far, and desperately want to know the experience of an artist. I have my 1st cataract surgery next week for my left eye. My Dr. suggested the Panoptix tri-focal and says it's a clear lens, which is all he uses. Other cataract lense replacements have a yellow tint to them. My concern is that, as an artist, will my world of color, so to speak, change? Will I see true colors so I can correctly create my painting and portraits, or will everything be forever changed? I did tell the Dr. I'm an artist and he said "colors will be brighter". If that's true, then fine. However, I saw photos depicting how you see colors with yellow vs clear lenses. While I don't want a yellow hue on everything, I also don't want everything appearing in all cool hues, either. I'm very concerned about this.

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Next
  • Edited

The Alcon blue light filtering lens option is designed to restore the colour profile a young person would see with a natural lens. A clear lens will result in a more blue colour compared to a natural lens. If you want to know what your work looks like to a younger person with natural lenses then you would be better off with a blue light filtering lens. It is available in the PanOptix lens. You should also look for the Clareon PanOptix version as it uses a newer material. Blue light filtering is also said to improve contrast sensitivity in twilight conditions, as well as reduce optical side effects like halos. A blue light filter is not going to make everything seem yellow. In fact if you are getting a lens to correct a cataract condition, everything is going to look brighter and more blue, because cataracts do cause a yellow brown effect, which will be gone after surgery.