Any artists here that can answer concerns with Panoptix vison results?

Posted , 9 users are following.

I can't find answers to my question so far, and desperately want to know the experience of an artist. I have my 1st cataract surgery next week for my left eye. My Dr. suggested the Panoptix tri-focal and says it's a clear lens, which is all he uses. Other cataract lense replacements have a yellow tint to them. My concern is that, as an artist, will my world of color, so to speak, change? Will I see true colors so I can correctly create my painting and portraits, or will everything be forever changed? I did tell the Dr. I'm an artist and he said "colors will be brighter". If that's true, then fine. However, I saw photos depicting how you see colors with yellow vs clear lenses. While I don't want a yellow hue on everything, I also don't want everything appearing in all cool hues, either. I'm very concerned about this.

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Edited

Here is a graph showing the difference in light transmittance of a clear lens (SA60AT) compared to a blue light filtering lens (SN60WF), and the transmittance of a natural lens (blue area) of a natural lens 4-53 year old. As you can see there is significan blue light transmitted by a clear lens that is never seen by a person of any age with a natural lens. These still is a bit of a boost in the 500 nm range even with the blue light filtering lens, but it is unlikely to have a significant effect on the overall colour perception.

I can understand why a person that wants a particular lens that is not available in blue light filtering might choose it due to features the clear lens has that are not available in a blue light filtering lens. But, when the same lens is available with blue light filtering, it seems like a slam dunk decision to go with blue light filtering. There is no down side to blue light filtering, only upside.

• Edited