Any tips for getting heel all the way back into the boot

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi everyone,

I graduated to the boot today!!  I feel like progress can now begin. I'm having a hard time getting my heel all the way down into the boot. Any tips? I think partly its because I have to overcome my fear of putting any pressure on it.

0 likes, 33 replies

33 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Machelle,

That's great news!  Like they told me at the hospital a few weeks ago when I got my air cast, "gravity will bring your heel down".

What I did is put my foot in, then slowly close the flap over the toes. Your heel will not be down in the boot right away, but if you ease it slowly, over a few minutes, you will see it will go down.  Yes, it will be sore and uncomfortable and it may take you a week or so, but your foot will cooperate and it gets easier pretty quickly.

Persevere, it will happen in a short period of time and it will be comfortable to wear.

Just be patient, this is progress!

• Posted

Thanks Deb

I'll try closing the toe flap first. I'm so glad too be out of the cast I was so miserable with it. 

Thanks for the help and encouragement. 

• Posted

Hello Machelle

Congratulations🎉

I found that by putting my leg straight on the bed/sofa was the best way then put the boot on then put my leg back on the floor..if i put it on whilst my bad leg was on the floor i could never get it in properly good luck😊

• Posted

Thanks Maria

I think I need to get over the fear of putting any pressure on my ankle. I will try this next time I put it on. I think I need practice. smile

• Posted

Do you have Even Up Shoe  
    • Posted

Yes, I have an even up shoe. Did you use it immediately or after you could bear more weight? I plan on taking it to Physical Therapy.
    • Posted

As soon as any weight goes on you need to walk straight upright and level. Avoid secondary injury at all cost. 
  • Posted