Are statins and blood pressure meds affecting my exercise

Posted , 9 users are following.

I've been cycling for 8 months and experiencing more and more muscle fatigue than what I'm used to. I'm currently taking 80mg of Lipitor and 25mg of metoprolol, I've had a double bypass almost three years ago, and I'm on some psych meds. Anyone know of a sports medicine doctor that can help?

Thank you

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Next
  • Posted

80 mg is a pretty high dose. I think within the past few years statins have had to put side affect warnings in their litature. You might want to google it. The added warnings were for the higher doses.
  • Posted

FDA says added risk of muscle injury at that dose. I just googled it.
  • Posted

I've had side effects like your saying and have reduced mine in half. The worst one was the burning tongue, fatigue. I'm also on psyc med's following a TBI. For me interactions with the med's the doctors say they haven't heard of. Story of my life on that topic. I have become less of a fan with statins with research. May be fine if I wasn't on the other meds one of which, has been shown to raise cholesterol levels.
  • Posted

Hi Aaron - I'm assuming you have been on statins for three years since your bypass op. I was on Lipitor 80mg for two years after stent inserted 2013. Aches in leg muscles, back, ankles, wrists - very difficult to sleep - are just a nip of the plethora of snowballing problems caused by that drug alone. I have been off for about one year after firing the quack (who denied statins were th cause) and am still getting back to normal, but all symptoms have diminished.

Muscle damage due to statins is well documented. It can lead to Rhabdomyelosis, a muscle wasting disease that is irreversible. All organs produce cholesterol and it is important for health. The brain is 35 % cholesterol. "Bad" cholesterol can be regulated with diet. An inherited condition not so easy.

• Posted