Aspirin

Posted , 7 users are following.

Does anyone take only aspirins for their afib instead of a blood thinner ? I am really scared to start taking blood thinners . I'd rather just take a aspirin a day . Would it be safe to take just aspirin ?

0 likes, 33 replies

33 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

You're right; it's my prerogative. However, even 81 mg of aspirin makes me prone to getting black and blue, and as long as it's working, I'm staying with it.

• Posted

I'm a newbie, so what's a CHAD score?

• Posted

Yes, I'm only on 100 mg aspirin every second day because my CHA2DS-VASc Stroke-Risk score is 1 and I'm a fit 67-years-old.  I made this decision a couple of years ago after much internet research.

Aspirin reduces stroke risk almost half as much as NOACs, while both increase bleeding risk.  Aspirin, however, has a number of other benefits, including reduced risk of common cancers.  Beyond 75-years-old, aspirin is much less attractive than NOACs. 

A recent study, https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2017/03/170317131550.htm, found blood thinners have little benefit for low-risk atrial fibrillation patients.  In the US, I understand that NOACs are not usuallly prescribed for a CHA2DS-VASc of 1 or less.

• Posted

Can you give meĀ  links to any recent medical papers with figures saying that aspirin reduces stroke risk almost half as much as NOACs
    • Posted

To do that, one would need to know your age and gender--whether Derek is your first or last name.
    • Posted

I just got back from seeing my cardiologist, he has me on a 24 hour holter monitor. He told me that I was at low risk for a stroke and said I could continue taking a aspirin a day . Funny thing though I just now converted back to normal sinus rhythm, which is good . Thank goodness.
    • Posted

82 and my first name. The only one I know with it as a last nsame is the lovely Bo.
    • Posted