Biopsy for perimenopausal spotting

Posted , 9 users are following.

Due to my additional issues with high levels of anxiety my GP is going to recommend I have a mild general for my biopsy.

I’ve been spotting daily for about 4 months.  I’m 57 and not reached menopause yet.  This only happened when I started missing periods.

Has anybody else gone down the general route for a biopsy and if so how did it go.  I know the procedure is short but I believe it’s very painful for some women.  I know I wouldn’t manage this without going into panic mode.  It’s just the way I am, can’t help it.

I don’t understand why I’m not having an ultrasound.  My GP said it won’t be detailed enough.  Having said that she feels it is possibly hormonal.  I’m out of my mind with worry.  I keep thinking my pants have a fishy odour which isn’t a good sign is it.

Anyway I’m waiting for a letter off a Gynea now for an appointment.

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hello!! I’m 47 with irregular periods for the past 4.5 years. I had two incidents of spotting so my Dr ordered a transvaginal U/S, which showed slight thickening of my lining (4.1mm). I had a biopsy last week and it came back benign. The biopsy was uncomfortable and I was incredibly anxious before the procedure but it was tolerable. It is over in less then 10 minutes. I would tell the Dr that you’d like to start with an U/S, they are very informative. With spotting and odor it sounds like you might have an infection like bacterial vaginosis, which would present with those symptoms. Wishing you the best! Try not to worry too much 
  • Posted

Hi Hunni I completely understand how you feel. I’ve had brown discharge spoofing occasionally this last year and pain during sex. 

I’ve been out of my mind with worry like you.

I e had smear which was clear but asked for U/S as I’d like to ensure my womb is OK but had to have a swab first.