Biopsy for perimenopausal spotting

Posted , 9 users are following.

Due to my additional issues with high levels of anxiety my GP is going to recommend I have a mild general for my biopsy.

I’ve been spotting daily for about 4 months.  I’m 57 and not reached menopause yet.  This only happened when I started missing periods.

Has anybody else gone down the general route for a biopsy and if so how did it go.  I know the procedure is short but I believe it’s very painful for some women.  I know I wouldn’t manage this without going into panic mode.  It’s just the way I am, can’t help it.

I don’t understand why I’m not having an ultrasound.  My GP said it won’t be detailed enough.  Having said that she feels it is possibly hormonal.  I’m out of my mind with worry.  I keep thinking my pants have a fishy odour which isn’t a good sign is it.

Anyway I’m waiting for a letter off a Gynea now for an appointment.

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I have a few friends with anxiety. It's so hard for them and I have to remind others that they do not WANT to feel that way. It is unavoidable. As far as the biopsy, I was in panic mode too even though I typically do not suffer from anxiety. The comforting part is that it only takes 3 to 5 minutes and it's over.

• Posted

Thank you so much.  I am out of my mind with worry.  I’ve had a cold sore for one month.  I can’t sleep and keep waking up with palpitations and hot sweats.  The soon this is over the better, then hopefully I can start living again.

I’m glad that you are OK xx

• Posted