Blood pressure up

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi I would like some advice. I have always been very fit and healthy and my blood presure has always been normal (despite me being significantly over weight). Last September I dicided it was time to lose weight and set about altering my lifestyle. I now exercise regularly (swimming) I eat healthy meals and have very little salt in my diet. I dont drink caffiene and never have done. I have lost almost 4 stones in weight and feel good.

The problem is, the more weight I loose the higher my blood presure becomes and nobody can explain why.  I am due to go back to see my gp on 21st where i will most likely be given tablets for this. I dont want to take tablets but it appears my healthy lifestyle is affecting my blood pressure in a negative way......... Im so confused and dont knw what to do

0 likes, 32 replies

32 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Wow that's a real stumper. Not being a doctor I can't really offer advice. However you might want to give the smoothie I put in my 1st blog. It seems to be helping me and that recipe makes 1litre,  enough for 3 days. I make 1lt every 3 days and it really does taste ok. Good luck with it,  I know it's a worry but i'm sure it will work out for you in the end. 
  • Posted

Hi Chrissy

This is exactly what happened to me when I had to go on bp medication and with my brother as well - no matter what we did regarding diet and exercise bp was still high and gp said it would be foolish not to go on medication which we reluctantly did. Do you mind me asking what age you are.

• Posted

Im 51.

I dont understand how I was perfectly healthy before loosing weight despite the fact I didnt exercise much and lived on a diet of mostly "beige" coloured food laiden with salt and fat.

• Posted