Brand new diagnosis - and confused

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone.

I'm 56, non smoker and obese.

Following an episode on Friday (tight chest and arm pain) I was taken to A&E. ECG & Bloods were clear but diagnosed as angina.

I was in a bit of shock at A&E (still am!) and didn't ask the questions I should have.

I've been given some meds and told that an appt will come through from the "chest clinic".

I have no knowledge of Angina and I don't even know what I should/shouldn't be doing prior to the gp visit. Walking up and down stairs gives me some tightness in my chest with an ache in my left arm all of which eases at rest - but happens often. Could this just be anxiety?

What is the standard process from here?

What sort of immediate adjustments should I be making and what questions should I be asking the GP (I've made an appt of my own back this week)

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi,

Where you given any Medication?

I found that he majority of people have their symptoms managed quite well through mediciation (cardiac rehab group, social media groups etc) That said there are unfortunate souls on here also for whom, angina is a constant struggle.

To put things into context, I am 34, I was brought into a&e and long story short suffered a heart attack through a coronary artery spasm (vasospasric angina) - having recovered from the Heart attack (Its now been 10 weeks) in pretty much absolutely fine.

I am now on a few mediciations for my angina - namely, calcium channel blockers and GTN spray, depending on your angina - frequency and severity they may give you s combination or drugs.

As a rule of thump to answer your question if you're doing anything that causes pain, stop and sit down and relax. If prescribed nitrates (such as a GTN spray) you can take that before physical activity to stop the onset of angina.