Brand new diagnosis - and confused

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone.

I'm 56, non smoker and obese.

Following an episode on Friday (tight chest and arm pain) I was taken to A&E. ECG & Bloods were clear but diagnosed as angina.

I was in a bit of shock at A&E (still am!) and didn't ask the questions I should have.

I've been given some meds and told that an appt will come through from the "chest clinic".

I have no knowledge of Angina and I don't even know what I should/shouldn't be doing prior to the gp visit. Walking up and down stairs gives me some tightness in my chest with an ache in my left arm all of which eases at rest - but happens often. Could this just be anxiety?

What is the standard process from here?

What sort of immediate adjustments should I be making and what questions should I be asking the GP (I've made an appt of my own back this week)

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

It sounds like angina to me. I have no idea about the cause but you should get it checked out. It is a signal that something is wrong you will be able to deal with it though. We are all dealing with this on this forum. But not knowing is the worst thing of all. Go and get the test taken and get a diagnosis and some medicine you will feel much better and begin to live with this problem and disease.
    • Posted

Thanks Diana

I think you probably missed my follow up reply yesterday, and I suspect misread the original one. (I think I've maybe posted them in a confusing way).

It has been dealt with and a stent fitted.

I'm due to be released from hospital tomorrow and now have a course of rehabilitation.

3 days a week for 8 weeks of sessions designed to help me to adapt to life with my stent - including physical exercise, diet, relaxation techniques and the psychological impacts.

I don't know if there's a similar post-procedure programme in the uk, but the thought of it has certainly eased some of the concerns that I had.

• Posted