Can't recall such discomfort and pain

Posted , 10 users are following.

Had my second knee totally replaced 5 weeks ago (age 77) and cannot recall so nuch discomfort the first time round.There was some early infection (antibiotics) and exercise regime seem to be o.k., but the wound is still rather red and I cannot get pain free except when the kee is rested up and then of course it gets stiff, vicious circle. My foot is also stiff and inflexible. Night time is the worst as cannot get comfortable on my back with legs straight. Day time pain relief is basically paracodol and morphine at night. The swelling is to be expected but hinders every effort. Am, I being impatient - 2 hips 2 knees in 5 years is a real bind !!

Surgeon says walk, walk but easier said than done as we all know.

2 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi David, our bodies & brains are very good at forgetting what the pain was like. As a midwife I often heard women say they couldn't remember the pain of labour, until it started again with the next one. Then they remembered! 

I had both knees done at once 10 weeks ago & my left is fantastic. Not so my right which is probably 2 weeks behind

• Posted

Isn't that odd how one knee responds so differently? My right had more issues too. But then I realized I had a tendency to cross the right ankle over the left when sitting on the bed. Possibly the reason. I've overcome that urge.
  • Posted

Also important is massaging your knee several times a day to prevent/break up scar tissue. Before exercising is a good time, and drink lots of water. Good luck.
  • Posted