Can't stop humming!

Posted , 66 users are following.

Put this under neurological as don't know where else to post it. I find myself constantly coming out with a repetitive (same few notes) hum. I think it first started when I would be finishing an arduous task but now it is frequent through the day - almost like a sort of crutch/mantra. Last week I nipped into the dentist's loo just before an appointment and realised I had been at it again. Which was embarrassing as there was someone waiting outside.

Any techniques for dealing with this? I want to stop!

10 likes, 84 replies

84 Replies

Prev Next
  • Edited

I have been humming incessantly for several years now & it has just about ruined my singing voice . A speech therapist confirmed my suspicion that I have lost a lot of volume & control of my voice because of the humming . I have been trying to stop myself for over a year and I can only do so much. I was hoping someone had made progress with this issue??

• Posted

For about a year or more ive been humming quietly and at a low level. I feel i may be stressed and find it helpful though others dont they find it annoying and tell me to stop. One of my friends said she found it quite creepy. So i have been making an attempt to stop it but its difficult. People are rude and it upsets me and obviously others apart from my grand daughter who thinks its funny and copies me. I feel a freak by other peoples comments. How should i react to their criticisms
  • Edited