Catheter Size

Posted , 10 users are following.

I am new to CIC. My PCP precribed it after an ultrasound showed a RV of 200ml. I'm using the Speedicath Standard 16 FR. I'm wondering if it would be better to try the 14 or even 12?

The reason is that it passes through the prostate fairly easily but when it reaches the bladder  spincther I'm only able to get it through about 50% of the time no matter how I move it or how many deep breaths I take..

0 likes, 32 replies

32 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I used the 14 when I had to cath. Never heard of a 12. It would go in a little better.

Did they show you how to do it?

• Posted

Yeah they showed me but sometimes it just won't work. I'll give it a minute or so and then give it up...

• Posted

I tried a number of different catheters and sizes. Finally settled on the Gentle Cath 14 Fr hydrophilic (with the water packet in the package) with a coude tip. I could never get the straight tip caths to go in at all. I believe that the 12 Fr might be too flexible and bend when you are trying to push it in. The 16 Fr was definitely too big for me and was uncomfortable. I am doing pretty well with this size and type. I tried 180 Medical and they were good about sending me various samples until I found what worked. good luck!
    • Posted

Thanks, thats the info I was looking for. I get them through the VA so I don't have any say on the brand but I can get them to drop the size just didn't know how  small to go...

• Posted

I think any 14 Fr hydrophilic with a coude tip will work fine. I was using the red rubber caths when I first started and they were uncomfortable to the point I dreaded it every time I had to insert one. Finally took them all back to the hospital and donated them, then started over with the new ones. Much better!
    • Posted