Catheter Size

Posted , 10 users are following.

I am new to CIC. My PCP precribed it after an ultrasound showed a RV of 200ml. I'm using the Speedicath Standard 16 FR. I'm wondering if it would be better to try the 14 or even 12?

The reason is that it passes through the prostate fairly easily but when it reaches the bladder  spincther I'm only able to get it through about 50% of the time no matter how I move it or how many deep breaths I take..

0 likes, 32 replies

32 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

The speedicath compact male works best for me - the part that passes through the prostate bladder is 12F (the bottom part that only goes in the urethra is 18F). 

Urologists have recommended starting at 14F with other catheters I've used but the one mentioned above works best for me and is by far the easiest.  Some have found it too short but that's probably on a case by case basis.

• Posted

I received a sample ("Not sterile; do not use!"wink for inspection, two years ago, but have never tried one.  It looks carry-convenient, but... (1) how do you extend it for use, without touching the "operating end," and (2) what do they cost per piece???

• Posted

My insurance covered it.

You take the cap off the green part and then pull it out by the exposed white handle (about 3/4 inch long that guides it in but doesn't actually go in to the urethra).  There should be instructions out there somewhere.  Maybe at coloplast website.

• Posted

Thanks  to all for the insight.

Although my prostate is enlalged  the PSA going from 2.7 in 2005 to about 9 +/- 1.5 for the last couple of years my main uriinary problem is nuerological/nerve. The VA seems to deal more with guys with service connected  injury/traima from the recent conflicts and in that group prescribing he larger cahers seems to work best.