Clinic/UTI follow-up news, really upset

Posted , 6 users are following.

When I saw the NP at the clinic on Sunday, she prescribed macrobid for a possible UTI and said she'd call if we needed to change to something else.  Found out during my lunch time at work that it is a UTI this time, not just irritation, and identified bacteria will not respond to macrobid - must change to Cipro.  I told her on Sunday that I'd taken Cipro before (the one other time I thought I had UTI and it wasn't an infection), but she wouldn't prescribe it.  I know how the irritation/infection occurred and hope it doesn't get worse.  Feeling bad that I took the macrobid for 4.5 days for nothing and it can cause C. diff later and ulcerative colitis, and I have Crohn's.  I am at work trying not to cry.  I know those who are used to getting UTIs probably think it is no big deal, but I am new to all this and don't want to wind up at the urologist's office again or the gyn or any of them.  I just need this ongoing year of medical/health nightmares to end and I'm afraid it won't and that I'll never really be well again.  I want to break through all this and feel better, but it seems like it never stops.  What if the Cipro doesn't work??

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted