Coming of Co-Codamal 30/500 day four

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone,

I have been taking the highest dose of co-codomal for quite a few years now but I changed anti-depressants a while back and I believe that the codeine was interacting with the the anti-depressants so I stopped the codeine straight and I am on day four and my head feels all over the place, like I feel out of it.....not part of this world. It is a really scary feeling and I am scared I am not going to feel better.

I know people have a lot of physical symptoms but has anyone out there had mental symptoms also? 

Thanks so much

Sean

0 likes, 29 replies

29 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Sean,

?             I have been in a very similar situation to yourself.I had been abusing co-codamol for about 5 years and about this time last year I started to suffer from depression which gradually worsened until May when I was put on sertraline and mirtazapine.I read somewhere that co-codamol can hasten depression as it can partially block the endorphins in your brain.Taking the three drugs together I can well believe that they interact and not in a good way.They made me tired and listless and my head was all over the place.My doctor seems to be too busy to give me any advice other than the fact that they try and get people off anti-depressants in the spring.Anyway at the beginning of Feb I decided to stop taking co-codamol but as I was sometimes taking 5 x 30/500 at a time the withdrawal was very unpleasant.The worst craving starts to lessen after about a week.I was sweating at night and having cramps. Mentally I suffered with anxiety and panic attacks.About a week later from stopping the co-codamol I also decided to stop taking the depression medication.After a month and a half I am slowly starting to feel better but am still having problems sleeping where although I am tired my brain will just not shut down.It takes a lot of willpower to just stop taking these drugs without tapering off. Can yo