COPD - a mystery

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello

I am new to this & have a bit of a problem.

Last year, I went to doctor because I was increasingly breathless on exertion. I was given a spirometry? test which was a bit suspect as I noticed the machine was calibrated for 2001 although this was 2009. I queried this but nurse said it made no difference :?

Anyway doctor said I had COPD & was given spiriva & another inhaler.

Second inhaler gave me severe palpitations ( I thought I was dying).

Nine months on, I am even more breathless, get severe pain & have no energy.

Do not know what is normal for this condition. I did not expect that in nine months I would go from being a bit breathless to being useless.

My lifestyle means that I have to walk a lot but now each step is an effort.

Again, is this normal?

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi sheep-ali,

While breathlessness / weakness is normal if COPD is relatively severe, serious pain is not, so I would suggest you re visit your Doc to discuss this. Symptoms of COPD and heart disease are similar, and so if you or your Doc are unsure of the COPD diagnosis, this too should be checked for.

With COPD, depending on the stage the disease is at, you may have an x ray or scan to check your heart health anyway, as the two can go hand in hand. If at the moderate / severe stage your GP should, anyway, be making an appointment for you to see a respiratory or thoracic consultant to check all this out as a matter of course.