COPD - a mystery

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hello

I am new to this & have a bit of a problem.

Last year, I went to doctor because I was increasingly breathless on exertion. I was given a spirometry? test which was a bit suspect as I noticed the machine was calibrated for 2001 although this was 2009. I queried this but nurse said it made no difference :?

Anyway doctor said I had COPD & was given spiriva & another inhaler.

Second inhaler gave me severe palpitations ( I thought I was dying).

Nine months on, I am even more breathless, get severe pain & have no energy.

Do not know what is normal for this condition. I did not expect that in nine months I would go from being a bit breathless to being useless.

My lifestyle means that I have to walk a lot but now each step is an effort.

Again, is this normal?

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Ali what fantastic news! :thepost:

But you are right - not telling results if they are good is a terrible system, leaving people worrying needlessly. Still, good result. :bubbly:

Your FEV1% isn't great (but twice as good as mine on diagnosis so don't panic!), which is why you feel breathless. I suggest you try Google and look up COPD, or FEV1 and see where you fit on the scale of things. However, stopping smoking, staying out of smoky atmospheres and taking exercise are ways in which you may be able to improve your FEV1 score.

The pain in your ribs is definitely not a normal component of COPD. Please go back to your GP :doctor: , or ask for a second opinion if he continues to dismiss what you are feeling as psychosomatic. Good luck - and thanks for updating us.

Jacee

xx

• Posted

[quote:af5a44a82b=\"sheep_ali\"]Hi

Just to say I eventually got my results - no heart problems :D

Apparently you do not get told results if everything is all right! Do not know how long you are meant to wait before you know that you are in the clear.