Death by Zopiclone

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was told by my G,P today, that I would die if I took Zopiclone. I have been using this sleeper for about three years, because I have really bad 24/7 Tinnitus ,and cannot fall asleep because of the constant noise. for the past few weeks I have been having only four hours sleep. so I assumed that Zopiclone was no longer working. and asked the G ,P for Melatonin to try. He said ,did I know that Zopiclone would kill me. !!! he gave me one months supply of Circadin 2mg and see how it goes. I understand that to stop Zopiclone immediately ,is not a good idea, what the consequences of this will be, I can't imagine, but I do know that sleep deprivation, is as bad as having a disease. To say that I am stressed over this situation is also not good, Did the G,P do the right thing ,?? Has anyone used this Circadin. and did it work ??

0 likes, 34 replies

34 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Jacqueline...I think your doctor maybe scaremongering. Zopiclone won't kill you...although I think it depends on how much you take and what other drugs you are taking. It could be that a combination of drugs could indeed be harmful. In fact E Zopiclone - a newer version of the drug has been approved for long term use for insomnia in the US, so I wouldn't worry too much. Like you I suffer from tinnitus and have it 24/7 but with meditation and having ocean sounds to sleep with..you can find this on you tube...lovely ocean sounds - or whatever you want to mask tinnitus whilst you sleep. I occasionally take zopiclone but only maybe a couple of times a month. Like all drugs, its effectiveness wears off. I also use a supplement called NAC...I find it helps me with tinnitus...dampens it a bit, but I can't recommend it as each person reacts differently.Good luck!

• Posted