Death by Zopiclone

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was told by my G,P today, that I would die if I took Zopiclone. I have been using this sleeper for about three years, because I have really bad 24/7 Tinnitus ,and cannot fall asleep because of the constant noise. for the past few weeks I have been having only four hours sleep. so I assumed that Zopiclone was no longer working. and asked the G ,P for Melatonin to try. He said ,did I know that Zopiclone would kill me. !!! he gave me one months supply of Circadin 2mg and see how it goes. I understand that to stop Zopiclone immediately ,is not a good idea, what the consequences of this will be, I can't imagine, but I do know that sleep deprivation, is as bad as having a disease. To say that I am stressed over this situation is also not good, Did the G,P do the right thing ,?? Has anyone used this Circadin. and did it work ??

0 likes, 34 replies

34 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Zopiclone is not good for your health, that's for sure but your physician is being a tad melodramatic about it killing you and really doesn't seem to know what he is talking about anyway.

You seem to be in tolerance withdrawal if the drug is no longer working for you and you need to taper from it slowly not abruptly - you can risk seizure if you cold turkey and you may end up in the emergency room in a hospital where they will ply you with more drugs to further confuse your poor brain. I doubt that the Circadin will offset your body's protest at suddenly stopping the physically addictive Zopiclone - these are completely different substances and have a different action altogether - one is a hormone, the other a Z Drug!

Your brain receptors have been altered by the Zopiclone in that the GABA receptors have been more or less become inactive - the GABA receptors need to heal which is why a slow reduction is so very important.