Desperately trying to help my friend

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi, I’m desperately trying to help my best friend get help with alcohol.

I have been sober for 7 years so I do have a bit of experience but she is much worse than I was.

She is drinking 6 litres of cider and 2 bottles of wine a day.

She has all the signs of liver damage, does not eat, lost use of bodily functions. She will not get help, refuses to leave the house. She’s been to a few councilling sessions(drunk)

Doesn’t sleep, constantly topping up alcohol levels.

Her husband and I really don’t know what to do. Can’t physically force her out of house. Don’t have money for private rehab. 

My fear is she is just gonna die, feel helpless.. Nothing is scarring her anymore. Must be something! Please help. I’m in the UK. Xxx

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Down the road a bit, something like The Sinclair Method might help in case of a relapse, but my guess from across the pond is that NHS is going to want her to detox, then they will offer Campral or Naltrexone (depending on the condition of her liver). You might need to go with her to her appointments and fight for her some, but I don't know if that's allowed. 

Go to c3foundationeurope and click on Services, then Local NHS Guidelines to see information on who normally prescribes alcoholism medications for your specific area. She'll likely need to set up an appointment with her GP and get a referral, although depending on the area she may be able to self-refer (not certain about this). 

Did they just send her to counseling last time, no detox or treatment?

• Posted

Hi there I'm so sorry your friend is going through this it's so sad watching a loved one in turmoil firstly I would like to say what a good friend you are to be seeking help for her