Desperately trying to help my friend

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi, I’m desperately trying to help my best friend get help with alcohol.

I have been sober for 7 years so I do have a bit of experience but she is much worse than I was.

She is drinking 6 litres of cider and 2 bottles of wine a day.

She has all the signs of liver damage, does not eat, lost use of bodily functions. She will not get help, refuses to leave the house. She’s been to a few councilling sessions(drunk)

Doesn’t sleep, constantly topping up alcohol levels.

Her husband and I really don’t know what to do. Can’t physically force her out of house. Don’t have money for private rehab. 

My fear is she is just gonna die, feel helpless.. Nothing is scarring her anymore. Must be something! Please help. I’m in the UK. Xxx

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Lisa, so sorry but you’ve done all you can. It really is down to her now. Help is there, but only if she asks for it
  • Posted

What a terrible situation to be in - for all concerned.  To not want to stick around and get help for her daughter's sake is very very sad.  That poor child must be going through hell at that age.  Your friend is on a hiding to hell - and the fact that alcohol can do this is criminal.  I don't think any suggestion is going to get through to her - probably the only thing that will, in my humble opinion, is when something happens to her and she is taken ill and hospitalised; the ramifications of what alcohol can suddenly present are endless.  Then stark reality might hit her in the face, especially when loved ones visit and she has had time to think long and hard.  You are a brilliant friend and she is really lucky to have you. 

I wish her and her family  well - and you too.

• Posted

Hi Lisa, I’m sorry that your friend is having such a hard time.  Being a recovering addict myself I understand feel your pain.