Diverticulitis/Diverticulosis

Posted , 8 users are following.

In desperate need of some advice, having bloating, spasms in abdomen, gas pains. What can I take for some relief? 

0 likes, 26 replies

26 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Maybe Gas x. I am on a prescription called Bentyl for the spasms. Hang in there. This is horrible.
    • Posted

Like I said I had 2 Cat Scans and full blood work done this month and shows no sign of flare up or infection. This is my first time having spasms and real bad gas pains. I’ve had the bloating discomfort and nausea always depends on what I ate. 
    • Posted

I have suffered from IBS for years. You can have the spasms with that also. How I new it was something different was the horrible pains in my lower abdomen that felt like contractions. I would be in the bathroom for more than an hour. Also painful to the touch. I hope you get it figured out soon. 
  • Posted

I take Bentyl for spasms. Use heating pad and liquid to soft food diet.  If it persists seek Gastro doctor.

It’s an up and down yo-yo experience.  I feel spasms are good related so watch what you eat and take note of the food that possibly can trigger an attack.  Sometimes it’s just IBS and an antispasmodic really helps.  Usually it either gets better in a day or gets worse.  I’m at the point I pretty much know the difference between IBS and a flare up of Diverticulitis.  Been dealing with both over 15 years.  🤗

• Posted

Hi is bentyl a prescription drug I go back to GI doc next month so far she hasn't prescribed anything I don't know if I have IBS I was great until May 6 then hospital bad infection in colon diagnosed diverticulitis 2 infections in 10 weeks just getting over last one now trying to figure out how to eat without pain God bless your soul 15 years with a smiley face I hope I will b smiley before to long!

• Posted