Do you have short of breath with low ferritin?

Posted , 17 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity.

Hi this is my first time posting. I seem to have all the symptoms of low ferritin. Waiting for my blood work to come back. My question is, does anyone else have shortness of breath and if so what does it feel like for you? Is it just shortness of breath when excreting yourself? I feel like my chest is heavy and tight and I can't get a good deep breath. I know part of it is my anxiety, and when I'm laying down and relaxed I feel I breathe better but standing, sitting or moving around I feel like I need to take a deep breath and when I do it just doesn't feel like I can take a great deep breath like I used to. Anyone else feel like this?

1 like, 42 replies

42 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I get this with anxiety, but I also have low ferratin. I'm on meds for it though, so it's more likely to be from anxiety to be honest

• Posted

Yes, you will have shortness of breath and also sudden sensations of weakness and fatigue. You might also see stars when standing suddenly. After lying down for long periods you will feel breathless and lightheaded when standing.

• Posted

Yes Jace, that's what took me to my GP. Total exhaustion and any effort at all, everything went black, with little white dots in front if my eyes, though I was going to faint.

It's a frightening feeling.

• Posted

Can you elaborate more on the sudden sensations of weakness and fatigue? I thought I was getting better but I feel so up and down. Like one day I can be tired all day and the next have more energy but then go backwards again. And even in a matter of hours. Like this morning I was feeling "ok" but then suddenly just felt so drained like I couldn't do anything . I hate this feeling it scares me a lot and idk how much of it is iron anymore and how much is anxiety and depression about the anxiety and how I have been feeling

• Posted