Do you have short of breath with low ferritin?

Posted , 17 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity.

Hi this is my first time posting. I seem to have all the symptoms of low ferritin. Waiting for my blood work to come back. My question is, does anyone else have shortness of breath and if so what does it feel like for you? Is it just shortness of breath when excreting yourself? I feel like my chest is heavy and tight and I can't get a good deep breath. I know part of it is my anxiety, and when I'm laying down and relaxed I feel I breathe better but standing, sitting or moving around I feel like I need to take a deep breath and when I do it just doesn't feel like I can take a great deep breath like I used to. Anyone else feel like this?

1 like, 42 replies

42 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Yes you do, I have  low ferritin, low folic acid, and my haemoglobin is very low. I have been getting slowly more tired, so slow over the last year that I didn't really pick up on it, until my GP did a blood test for anaemia. My haemaglobin is 8.3. Folic acid 1.9 and ferritin, which shows your iron stores is 9.0, I am severely anaemic and really breathless. 

Just walking from one room to the next is making me so breathless, and yes I don't feel as though there is enough air going in when I breathe.

On iron and folic acid tablets now.

• Posted

Thank you all for the responses! Have you noticed a difference since taking the pills? My CBC is normal but I'm waiting on my actual iron and ferritin count. I went thru a really bad period recently ( still am feeling awful ) and noticed I feel better after eating a steak with orange juice. Haven't started actually supplementing yet till I get results

• Posted

Yes a big difference after taking for a month, GP said it will take at least three months to feel normal.
  • Posted