Effect of diet on rheumatoid arthritis symptoms

Posted , 15 users are following.

Hello, I'm a medical student currently doing some research into the effect of diet on rheumatoid arthritis symptoms.

I became interested in this subject after a family friend (who has been diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis) told me that certain foods cause flare-ups in her condition.

From the research I have conducted so far it appears that many sources recommend a Meditteranean-style diet (rich in fruit, vegetables, fish oils, nuts etc.) or a gluten-free vegan diet. However, results from these studies is variable.

I wondered whether any of you have had personal experiences (either as a patient or professional) in experimenting with changes in diet (either excluding or incorporating certain foods or food groups) and whether this has had a positive or negative effect on rheumatoid arthritis symptoms?

Thank you so much for your help - it is greatly appreciated!

2 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

iv got fibro and i am waiting for tests to see if there is anything ellse going on as inflamotary markers are really high esp a certain which iv forgotten now .

but i find unfortunatly that cold food like salad, ice cream,fruit ,and spicey foods cause flare ups in my condition more pain and ibs .tomatoes and beetroots esp bad .also strange again hot milk makes me sick but cold i am ok on .its totaly crazy . i also cant manage wholemeal ,barley.lentals, peppers ,pepper ,or salt .

mutton ,or to much pork  or oily fish .

but i am perfectly fine on root veg ,brocli,cauliflower ,green beans, cabbage, 

lamb, beef, potato, white bread .chicken . and few more other things .

i keep going back and trying stuff but everytime thre same thing .

• Posted