Effect of diet on rheumatoid arthritis symptoms

Posted , 15 users are following.

Hello, I'm a medical student currently doing some research into the effect of diet on rheumatoid arthritis symptoms.

I became interested in this subject after a family friend (who has been diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis) told me that certain foods cause flare-ups in her condition.

From the research I have conducted so far it appears that many sources recommend a Meditteranean-style diet (rich in fruit, vegetables, fish oils, nuts etc.) or a gluten-free vegan diet. However, results from these studies is variable.

I wondered whether any of you have had personal experiences (either as a patient or professional) in experimenting with changes in diet (either excluding or incorporating certain foods or food groups) and whether this has had a positive or negative effect on rheumatoid arthritis symptoms?

Thank you so much for your help - it is greatly appreciated!

2 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I would recommend the book Win the War Within by Floyd H Chilton PH.d with Laura Tucker - I followed his diet - reduce sugar intake, no farmed or organic salmon - stick to the tinned atlantic salmon and it worked for me within 10 days.  I have lapsed though and suffer for it.

Really glad to see you are interested.

• Posted