elevated PSA

Posted , 12 users are following.

I'm 63 and I've been tracking my PSA for 10 years on a yearly basis.  The range has been anywhere from .7 to 1.9 with no real trend.  Today, my bloodwork came back and my PSA was 4.2.  I'm freaking out because I've never had any prostate issues and everything works like it is supposed to.  My doctor has told me not to worry about it and I'll be tested again in two weeks.

My doc then asked me if I've been riding a bike lately? Yes

Have I been lifting heavy weights? Yes

Did I have sexual relations the night before the PSA test? Probably.

She asked me about my urine flow and I told her that my start/stop is fine and that I will get up once a night to urinate maybe once every 3 or 4 nights.  If I don't drink anything after 9PM, the chances are that I'll make it through the night.  She was pretty amazed that at 63 I can sleep through the night.

So, any thoughts from anyone with this kind of experience?

Thanks,

John

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Next
  • Posted

When I was 29 (40 years ago), I had a stress test because my maternal grandfather died of a heart condition at 50 (he got sick at 29).  The doctor said he noticed something on the stress test and that I needed a thallium (nuclear) stress test which they scheduled for 2 weeks.  During that 2 weeks, I probably listened to my heart beat more than I ever did.  The test was negative.  Then I found out my maternal grandfather had rheumatic fever as a child (probably the cause of heart problems).  I started running marathons.  (slowly - wasn't disciplined for speed work).

You'll get more informative responses on the PSA level..  But, my advice is not to sweat it.  Some guys have double digits.  I have BPH and the urologist also monitors the PSA (presently below 3).  If the blood test I had yesterday turns out to be higher than recent, I'll take another test.  Then I'll make a decision on what course to take.