Enlarged Prostate -self catheterization

Posted , 15 users are following.

I have been using catheter for 4/5 years...no problem, but I have never been offered drugs to shrink prostate or surgery......am I the only one using self catheterization ? should I be offered drugs or surgery ?

1 like, 34 replies

34 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Barnie..it seems u r having BPH(benign prostatic hypertrophy).whats ur age?i assume u have got all test-s done to exclude any other pathology in the prostate.i am a doc n i will never advise anyone to use a cath-eter for years when they are such safe and simplesurgeries available these days(Nd:YAG Laser technique).i think one should not suffer if one can afford to undergo a surgery.And catheters insitu for long time can put ur health at risk of infections and many more probs which can be dangerous.
    • Posted

I have been self cathing for over 20 years. When my large prostate stopped everything the hospital let my bladder almost burst.  They tried to  shrink my bladder but it failed. and have been cath ever since. I get  infections a couple tikmes a year and KEFLEX/500  will stop it in 3 days treatments. I have stage 4 prostate cancer for past 5 years but no treatments. Now getting some bone pains in lower back. I am 84 years old and will get some radition treatments for pain if gets too bad.