Enlarged Prostate -self catheterization

Posted , 15 users are following.

I have been using catheter for 4/5 years...no problem, but I have never been offered drugs to shrink prostate or surgery......am I the only one using self catheterization ? should I be offered drugs or surgery ?

1 like, 34 replies

34 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I am having a problem with self-catheterization, with difficulty passing through the prostate. That hasn't been a problem before, as I have done it previously. Now, though, it takes 10-30 minutues to get through the prostate. I'm mystified.

• Posted

How long have you used a catheter?  At first they would give me some pain but after using them all these years, theyare easy to insert.  I also  take Proscar to keep prostate from growing for several years.   I drink 8 glasses of water a day and 3 of  crandburry juice to keep any infections away.  Then take a diretic pill to eliminate the fuilds in my body.  Have Keflex antibotics on hand  at all times to kill any infections.They are supplied to me by mail and request more as needed.
    • Posted

hi leonard, does not drinking do much liquid cause night time urination for you ? Also, why did you stop taking Proscar ? Hank

• Posted

Hi Hank,

I still take a proscar pill a day as have for many years.  I go to bed at 10:30 PM and about 3 to 4 Am usually urinate but many times not till around 7 AM.