Esa contribution base to income related esa

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi im new to this and writing this on behalf off my husband .my husband is on esa contribution and work related group ,but his had a letter today saying that in november it will be stopped because his been on the contribution for 365 days but he hasnt long been in the work related group .ive been on the benefit calculator and its says that all we will be entitled to £11.40 a week surely that be right how can a couple serve on that as well as two children .with the income related one does he stay on the work related group or will that stop its all so confusing to me .he has fibro where he cant return to work as he can hardly walk bathe and has fibro fog where he keeps forgetting stuff .any help will be much grateful thankyou

1 like, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi,

The 365 day rule would include his time on assessment phase. For Income Related ESA I'll need more info to be able to help you further. Do you work, if so how many hours per week?

• Posted

Hi denise all his letter says is based on the information held on your current award of benefit when your contribution based employment and support allowance ends you will get income related employment based on how much the law says you need to live on. He is also on a work related support too so will that stop ?

But he also wants to change the support group his on too.

No I dont work im home all the time with him even if he has appointments ive got to go with him as his so forgetful and his only 41

• Posted

If you don't work then you must be named on his ESA claim and claim as a couple, correct? If not then why not? As you don't work then he needs to ring ESA and ask for it to be changed to Income Related ONLY because you don't work. If you're not named on his claim then you need to get him to add you to the claim so you're claiming as a couple.