Esa contribution base to income related esa

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi im new to this and writing this on behalf off my husband .my husband is on esa contribution and work related group ,but his had a letter today saying that in november it will be stopped because his been on the contribution for 365 days but he hasnt long been in the work related group .ive been on the benefit calculator and its says that all we will be entitled to £11.40 a week surely that be right how can a couple serve on that as well as two children .with the income related one does he stay on the work related group or will that stop its all so confusing to me .he has fibro where he cant return to work as he can hardly walk bathe and has fibro fog where he keeps forgetting stuff .any help will be much grateful thankyou

1 like, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

If you swap now to universal credit you'll be better off. My esa also stopped and went on UC I now get £1200 a month

£400 couple rate

£300 rent

£400 not able to work

£150 carers pay

Work allowance of £200 

When partner earns £1000 I get roughly £700

Plus pip. 

If UC isn't available to you not a lot I can advise I had same problem but I've been ill for 4 years with serious illness. 

• Posted

I would not advice changing to UC without advice from CAB or someone that knows what UC is all about. If a person changes to UC from the old legacy benefits then very often they'll end up being worse off.

• Posted