Exercise, when can I start and how much

Posted , 6 users are following.

7 weeks recovery tomorrow and I'm feeling good. I've been out walking gently this week built it up to about 30-40 mins. I'm hoping to start swimming next week but would like advice, Can't feel many stitches now so think I could be ready.

im 44 and up until my op I was very active which included swimming 2.5kms a week (100 lengths of a 25m pool twice a week in an hour) I've been doing this for the last 7 years 

obviously im not going to be able to do anything like that at the moment but i would like to do a little swim as I'm missing it so much my body is crying out for the flexibility and weightlessness the pool gives.

how long should I swim for?? And do you think it's ok at 7 weeks?

rectocele and bowl Plication op is what I'm recovering from.

thanks girls

0 likes, 30 replies

30 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I think you should be fine to swim as long as your stitches have healed and you don't have any water infections. Take it gently to start maybe not butterfly and breaststroke might prove to be a little uncomfortable for your lower back at the moment so see how you feel. I am an expert in this field of sport and remedial exercise.

Enjoy I'm jealous!!!!

• Posted

I'm healing beautifully thank goodness (I had such a bad time 9yrs ago with hysterectomy, it was horrific) this time unlike last, the op has gone well and although I get tired which you expect I've had no issues with infections. 

I will ill take it really easy and see how my body copes.

I'm finding it really hard to find out apart from swimming and walking, what sort of excercise you are allowed to do and when, somewhere I read says low impact and when I YouTube they all seem to have weights and high kicks, which I know I'm not trying yet,

any advice?

Mik x

• Posted