Extreme pain in hands. I'm new to this.

Posted , 14 users are following.

I started out 7 weeks ago with swollen hands and feet. Lots of pain in hands and cannot bend them to touch my palms. After two visits to my Primary care doctor, I am being sent to a Rheumotologist for testing. My hands ars so painful that I can hardly hold a pen to write. Fingers stay numb. I havent slept well in weeks becuase one of more joints are extememly painful at night, and my hands hurt worse when I lay down. This came on me suddenly, I hurt all over, and am miserable. Hands are the worst. I'm just wanting to know from others with RA what your experience is with terrible hand pain, and my fingertips stay numb 24/7. I can hardly walk when I first get up in the mornings. Takes an hour or so to get my body going. This feels like it has totaly taken over my body.

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Oh bless you Becky, I'm sure that a lot of us on here can really empathise with you.

I've had steroid injections in quite a few joints, hips knees, feet, shoulders back and the base of my thumb on the right hand.  I did get some relief for a short time with most of the joints, but unfortunately not with the hand.  They wanted to try again, but under Xray to make sure it went into the right place, but I've not gone through with that yet.  Hopefully the Rheumatologist will be able to help you with pain once they have carried out all the necessary tests.  

The pain wakes me at night, so like you I don't get a lot of sleep.  I also have Osteo and Fibromyalgia, which again is very painful.  It seems to feed on stress and I'm quite sure that you are feeling stressed by it all at the moment.  Good, luck with the Rheumatologist, let us know how it goes.  Big gentle hugs. x

• Posted

Thank you Sukes for sharing. I dread to see bedtime come becuase I know how bad I am going to hurt.
  • Posted

Hi