Fibromyalgia and Mental Health

Posted , 12 users are following.

Hi all,

I've just joined this site in a desperate attempt to find something that can help.

I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia about 6 months ago after a few years of unexplainable pain and the usual arguing with medical professionals. It's been a tough year as the pain and symptoms are increasing all the time. I keep thinking I may have reached the peak, only to be proved wrong and reach new levels of pain.

I'm used to coping with a lot. 4 years ago I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder after over a decade of being seriously ill. I'm a strong person and I've never let anything hold me back. I've been teaching now for 8 years and my career is going extremely well. 

I guess like everyone on here, I'm used to being strong. I'm used to smiling when I want to cry. I'm used to pretending that everything is fine.

But I worry that this time I've met my nemesis. The pain is now at the level that it's affecting my mental health. I have to work 12-15 hours a day. My work have been very understanding but in my job there are just no shortcuts. 

I know I can cope with mental pain and I think I could cope with physical pain. But the combination of both is...terrifying I guess.

If anyone has any advice or experience of Fibromyalgia and Mental Health conditions I would love to hear from you. 

Best wishes everyone x

5 likes, 24 replies

24 Replies

Prev
  • Posted