Finding triggers

Posted , 7 users are following.

I'm a nurse, 58 years old, slim, fit and active.  I've started to have short (a few hours) episodes of atrial fibrillation that stops me working.  they started at the end of last year and have occurred every 6 or 7 weeks.  I get the odd 'flutter' most days too.  I'm not a heavy drinker and I don't smoke but I think maybe it was triggered by red wine (now stopped). The most recent episode was yesterday morning following a Sunday of cycling, beer/prosecco and cheese on toast to say nothing of the night cap of whisky (one only!!).  It was a relief when my heart flipped spontaneously back into sinus rhythm but I always feel tired and washed out afterwards.  I exercise with no problem but if I'm tired, dehydrated and not careful with what I'm eating (and drinking) then I'm risking things. I'm not on any meds although my GP wants to start me on Metoprolol but I'm trying to manage this thing through lifestyle choices, coconut water and cashew nuts for magnesium - I'll let you know if I succeed.  Regards to all.

ps: having an echo this afternoon, cholesterol normal.

0 likes, 38 replies

38 Replies

Next
  • Posted

You should be on an anticoagulant asap ! Talk to your doctor about this.
  • Posted

Each day you are supposed to have about 600 mg magnesium AND 5-6 grams of potassium. Alcohol, caffeine, sugar and stress can cause one to excrete the magnesium and potassium.  If those levels are low, then afib can result.

You need more potassium than the total amounts by weight of sodium, magnesium and calcium.

Magnesium and potassium are the electrolytes that act inside of all cells, whereas calcium and sodium are supposed to act outside of cells.

I would try to find a way to have your magnesium and potassium levels measured in red cells, not in serum where they are most often measured.

If you are low. that may be your problem and you might need to take magnesium and potassium supplements.

Frank

Frank

• Posted